Who we are

The Illinois PTA was founded on May 30, 1900, and has since worked diligently to support public schools and to ensure that all children and youth have equal opportunities and access to a quality education.

We are a state-wide volunteer organization dedicated solely to the welfare of children and youth in the home, school, and community.

The Illinois PTA is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and is guided by an approved set of bylaws.

PTA and the Community

State Board of Directors


Brian Minsker


Lillian Ball

President Elect

Kristin Kramer


Rhonda Jenkins

V.P. Field Operations

Carolyn McCarty

Executive Director

Jolene Stark

V.P. of Programs

Connie McElyea


Lisa Garbaty



Chicago Region Director

Vanessa Richardson

Southern Region Director

Gregg Hobbs

South Suburban Cook Director

Darvel Stinson

Northern Region Director

Chase Thomas

East Central Region Director

Missy Brown

Northwest Cook Region Director

Jennifer Ratkovich

District 19 Director

Camille O’Quin

District 20 Director

Carmen Holiday

Environmental Concerns

Lisa Brennan

District 23 Director

Catherine Jones


Wendy Powers

District 24 Director

Ruth Johnston

Scholarship Director

Angelica Parra

Immediate Past President

Matthew Rodriguez

Cultural Arts Director

Laura Murphy